March 21, 2022

Contact: Christina Dexter, (816)738-5402
[email protected]

Farmers Union praises the appointment of USDA farmer committee

The Iowa Farmers Union praised the appointments of five farmers to the Iowa USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) state committee.

“These outstanding individuals are excellent leaders in their communities and have shown exceptional dedication to family farmers and sustainable agriculture,” said Iowa Farmers Union President Aaron Lehman.  “They represent the broad diversity of Iowa agriculture and they will serve farmers well.” 

Members of the FSA state committee are appointed by Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and are responsible for the oversight of farm programs and county committee operations, resolving program delivery appeals from the agriculture community, maintaining cooperative relations with industry stakeholders, keeping producers informed about FSA programs and operating in a manner consistent with USDA equal opportunity and civil rights policies.

The FSA state committee is comprised of five members including a designated chairperson. The individuals appointed to serve on this committee are:

“All of these appointees are friends of our organization and Ryan Marquardt has recently served on the Iowa Farmers Union Board of Directors.” 

The Farm Service Agency serves farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural partners through the effective, efficient, and equitable delivery of federal agricultural programs. The Agency offers producers a strong safety net through the administration of farm commodity and disaster programs. Additionally, through conservation programs, FSA continues to preserve and protect natural resources and provides credit to agricultural producers who are unable to receive private, commercial credit, including targeted loan funds for beginning, underserved, women, and military veterans involved in production agriculture.