Reserve a hotel room: Click here or call (641) 753-3333‎

Map to convention (Marshalltown Community College)

2010 Iowa Farmers Union Convention Schedule

2010 Iowa Farmers Union

State Convention Agenda

Marshalltown Community College, Marshalltown, Iowa

Friday, August 27

2:00                        Registration

2:30                        Call to Order – Iowa Farmers Union Vice President Gregg Heide

Invocation-Fr. Marvin Boes                   

3:00                        Policy Development

4:45                                    John Whitaker, Iowa FSA Director

5:00                        Local Wine Reception

5:30                        Governor Chet Culver

5:50                                    Francis Thicke, Secretary of Agriculture Candidate

6:00                        Supper

Featured speaker: National Farmers Union President Roger Johnson

Legislative Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

Live Auction

Saturday, August 28

8:00                          Registration

9:00                          Welcome, President’s Address

9:15                          Ratify 2009-2010 policy

10:00                          Special Orders of Business

11:00                          Election of 2009-2010 Directors and 2010 NFU Convention Delegate & Alternate

11:30                          Senator Chuck Grassley

12:00                         Luncheon

Lifetime Achievement Award

Educator Awards

Young Farmer Award

Silent Auction Wrap-up

1:00                          Steph Larson, Center For Rural Affairs: Rural Health Care

1:25                         Main Street Alliance, Sue Dinsdale

1:45                          Bill Maske, Candidate for Iowa’s 4th Congressional District

2:05                         Break

2:10                         Keynote: Peter Komendowski, Iowa activist and communications specialist

“Rebuilding America from the Inside Out”

2:45                         Roxanne Conlin, Candidate for Iowa Senate

3:05                        Rich Olive, Iowa District 5 State Senator

3:25                        Dr. Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Candidate for Iowa’s 2nd Congressional District

3:45                          Adjourn

4:00                         Meeting of the 2010-2011 Board